top of page


Two panel glossy digipack with red foil lettering and booklet with lyrics.

Re-release of the The Wall Of Sacrifice LP which was released in a limited edition in March 1989.


𝐆𝐞𝐧𝐫𝐞: Neofolk, Industrial, Experimental

𝐋𝐚𝐛𝐞𝐥: New European Recordings

𝐂𝐨𝐮𝐧𝐭𝐫𝐲: Germany

𝐘𝐞𝐚𝐫: 2003


"Another one from the vaults remastered and revitalised. The Wall of Sacrifice was something of a stop-gap release following Brown Book. A sombre piano opens the album and continues throughout the title track. Nikolas Schreck, of Radio Werewolf, editor of The Manson file - and currently a satanic scholar of the highest order - opens the proceedings with a swiped line from an anonymous London child "first you take a heart and you tear it apart" over timpani drums, voice samples, and spirited fanfares. It's along the lines of 'Death of A Man' or even - dare I say it - some of Current 93's early collaged pieces. 'Death Is A Drummer covers similar territory. 'Heilige Leben' revisits the subtle strains of The World That Summer with the elongated keyboard drone punctuated by the beautiful voice of Rose McDowall.The hefty price tag upon its original vinyl issue and the inclusion of a number of atmospheric tracks succeeded in dissuading all but the most ardent Death In June fanatics. However The Wall of Sacrifice has aged remarkably well and in my opinion is noteworthy for the inclusion of some of Death In June's finest moments: the Mishima influenced 'Giddy Giddy Carousel', 'Fall Apart' and 'Hullo Angel'. These shouldn't overshadow the noteworthy contributions from David Tibet and Boyd Rice. Boyd delineates his much maligned "might is right" philosophy magnificently on 'Bring In The Night'. I believe this writing was titled 'The Psalm of Destruction' from Boyd's never published Nine Psalms of the Apocalypse. 'Bring In The Night' captured the trinity of Rose, Tibet and Douglas at their peak delivering such lines as "We can only care if we can cull". Tibet delivered one on his finest vocals for Death In June on 'In Sacrilege' above the stern acoustic and e-bow dischord. The Wall of Sacrifice achieved a quality and clarity that Current 93 material of the era only hinted at. Death In June carried it off with a certain dark panache, the songs of dreams, destiny and order sounded utterly beguiling and threatening. The fact that at the time The Wall of Sacrifice was purported to be the final Death In June album only heightened the mystique. And it was unique. Most of today's exponents of the genre still don't come close." - Compulsion Online



01. The wall of sacrifice

02. Giddy giddy carousel

03. Heilige leben

04. Fall apart

05. Bring in the night

06. In sacrilege

07. Hullo angel

08. Death is a drummer

09. Heilige Tod

Death In June – The Wall Of Sacrifice

36,00 €Price
    bottom of page