top of page

𝐆𝐞𝐧𝐫𝐞: Neofolk, Spoken word, Experimental, Black comedy

𝐋𝐚𝐛𝐞𝐥: New European Recordings

𝐂𝐨𝐮𝐧𝐭𝐫𝐲: United Kingdom

𝐘𝐞𝐚𝐫: 2002


Picture-LP Ltd 2000 copies. Comes in a clear sleeve with an one-sided 12" square sized info sheet.


Music, Martinis and Misanthropy is an album by Boyd Rice, released in 1990 by New European Recordings. It was recorded in Tokyo, Japan and Denver, Colorado between July 1989 and March 1990 and features several notable neofolk artists - Douglas P. (of Death in June), Tony Wakeford (of Sol Invictus), Rose McDowall (of Strawberry Switchblade) and Michael Moynihan and Bob Ferbrache of Blood Axis. Most of the music was arranged by Douglas P. in collaboration with Rice and Ferbrache. This album was inspired by Rod McKuen's spoken word albums and Jackie Gleason's romantic recordings from the 1950s. The title and album cover are a tribute to Gleasons's album, Music, Martinis, and Memories.



A1 Invocation 2:22

A2 People 6:12

A3 The Hunter 0:46

A4 Nightwatch 3:09

A5 Disney Land Can Wait 3:26

A6 An Eye For An Eye 5:13

A7 Down In The Willow Garden 2:58


B1 I'd Rather Be Your Enemy 1:41

B2 Tripped A Beauteous Maiden 0:37

B3 As For The Fools 5:26

B4 Shadows Of The Night 2:40

B5 History Lesson 3:29

B6 Silence Is Golden 2:19

Boyd Rice And Friends – Music, Martinis And Misanthropy

20,00 €Prix
    bottom of page